Please read this disclaimer carefully. If you do not wish to be legally bound by the disclaimer then do not access this site.

read our disclaimer

Board of Directors

  • Jaap Huijskes

    Jaap Huijskes

    Non-Executive Chairman

    Jaap Huijskes was appointed as Non‑Executive Chairman of Gulf Keystone in April 2018 having been a Non-Executive Director since November 2017.

    Jaap is a highly experienced oil and gas executive, having worked for nearly 30 years in the upstream oil and gas sector. Jaap started his career with Shell and worked in a variety of project engineering and other more general roles around the world, moving from the North Sea to the Middle East and Australia. Jaap’s last role with Shell was as Project Director for the Sakhalin II project followed by a short period at head office as Executive Vice President for all of Shell’s upstream projects. Jaap left Shell to join OMV, the Austrian integrated oil and gas company, as their board member responsible for all upstream activities. OMV’s upstream actives at the time included significant exploration activities in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq.

    Jaap retired from OMV in 2016 and is currently a Non-Executive Director at Energie Beheer Nederland, the Dutch State upstream participation company.


  • Jón Ferrier

    Jón Ferrier

    Chief Executive Officer

    Jón Ferrier joined Gulf Keystone in June 2015 as Chief Executive Officer following three decades spent in exploration, commercial, strategic and leadership positions in the oil and gas and mining industries. Before joining Gulf Keystone, he was Senior Vice President Business Development, Strategy & Commercial at Maersk Oil in Copenhagen. He holds an MSc from Imperial College. 

    Jón has considerable international experience gained across technical, commercial and a variety of managerial and leadership positions. His roles prior to joining Gulf Keystone had a strong external orientation and have seen him working effectively with all stakeholders, including host governments. 

    Prior to Maersk Oil, Jón’s industry experience was gained with Anglo American, ConocoPhillips, Paladin Resources plc and Petro‑Canada/Suncor, in a number of geographies.

  • Ian Weatherdon

    Ian Weatherdon

    Chief Financial Officer

    Ian Weatherdon joined Gulf Keystone in January 2020 as Chief Financial Officer.

    Ian has over 25 years' experience in the international oil and gas industry. Most recently he was CFO of Sino Gas & Energy Holdings, an energy company focused on developing natural gas assets in China that was an Australian listed Company (ASX:SEH) until acquired by a private equity firm.  Prior to this, he held various executive roles, including; Vice President of Finance & Planning for the Asia-Pacific region, and Vice President of Investor Relations for Talisman Energy Inc., the Canadian exploration and production company which was acquired by Repsol in 2015.  He also held the CFO role at Equión Energía Limited, a Colombian joint venture between Talisman Energy Inc. and Ecopetrol SA.

    Ian has a B. Comm from the University of Calgary and is a Canadian Chartered Accountant.

  • Martin Angle

    Martin Angle

    Senior Independent Director

    Martin Angle was appointed as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Gulf Keystone in July 2018.

    He has had a distinguished executive career across investment banking, private equity and industry. His previous roles include senior positions with SG Warburg & Co. Ltd, Morgan Stanley, Dresdner Kleinwort Benson, as well as the Group Finance Director at TI Group plc, then a FTSE 100 company. More recently, he spent time at Terra Firma Capital Partners, where he held various senior roles in its portfolio companies.

    As a Non-Executive Director, Martin served on a number of Boards including Pennon Group where he chaired the Remuneration Committee, Savills plc (Senior Independent Director), National Exhibition Group (Chairman), Severstal, and Dubai International Capital.

  • David Thomas

    David Thomas

    Non-Executive Director

    David Thomas was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Gulf Keystone in October 2016. 

    He is a highly experienced oil and gas professional with almost 40 years in the industry. He started his career as a petroleum engineer working for Conoco in the North Sea and Dubai before moving into various reservoir engineering and asset management positions. Subsequently, he joined Lasmo where he became the Group GM Operations and, following the company’s acquisition, held three regional Vice President roles with Eni covering the North Sea, Russia/Asia/Australia and West Africa portfolios. David’s Board directorships have included positions as President and COO of Centurion Energy, CEO of Melrose Resources and COO with Petroceltic International. In mid-2015 he briefly served on a caretaker Board at Afren and is currently the CEO of PICO Cheiron in Egypt.

    David has a BSc in Mining Engineering from Nottingham University and an MSc in Petroleum Engineering from Imperial College.

  • Kimberley Wood

    Kimberley Wood

    Non-Executive Director

    Kimberley Wood was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Gulf Keystone in October 2018. 

    Kimberley is a legal professional with 18 years’ experience and a specialist in the oil and gas sector. Most recently she was Head of Oil and Gas for EMEA at Norton Rose Fulbright LLP and remains a Senior Consultant for the firm. Throughout her career she has advised a wide range of companies in the sector, from small independents through to super majors. Kimberley was a Partner at Vinson & Elkins RLLP from February 2011 to April 2015 and was previously at Dewey & LeBoeuf LLP. She is included as an expert in Energy and Natural Resources in the 2018 “Expert Guide” series and Women in Business Law, 2018 and is a member of the Advisory Board to the City of London Geological Forum.

    Kimberley is currently a Non‑Executive Director of Africa Oil Corp., an E&P company listed on the TSX (Canada) and Nasdaq OMX (Stockholm), with assets in Kenya and Ethiopia and a member of the Lundin Group, and a Non-Executive Director of Valeura Energy Inc, a TSX listed oil and gas company.